35 Day Music Challenge – Day 4

A Song That Is Often Stuck In My Head: Shack – ‘Mood Of The Morning’

I did say that it was likely Shack would feature heavily throughout this challenge! Two in a row now, but the whole point of this challenge is to be honest, I suppose.

‘Mood of the Morning’ is another track off of Waterpistol. Like ‘Walter’s Song’, it’s very simplistic, melodically. I don’t really know what it’s about, but if I had to guess I’d probably say it’s about a girlfriend who never shuts down, most likely the partying type and quite the eyecatcher. She’s probably a bit of a nutter as well, as Mick’s repeatedly telling us throughout that ‘My baby loves Happy Mondays’ and I’ve always been of the opinion that nobody who likes the Happy Mondays is totally sane…

The main part that sticks in my head – aside from the guitar melody – is what I would class as the main chorus of the song. Rising up from the calmer tones of the first two verses, Mick Head gears up and belts out ‘My baby, baby’s into the mood of the mornin’!’ and I can’t help but get goosebumps when I hear it. There aren’t enough tunes on which he gives it the beans, but he sounds fantastic on this.

Leave a Reply

